Zorro, my cat, drinking the water

This year I gave up on supplying our garden pond with feeder fish for the raccoons to raid for their night time snack.   For several years I’ve been hoping the newly planted fish would have a chance to grow larger but each time their length reaches about four inches, the raccoons decide they are ready for the big meal.  Then after the meal, the raccoons leave a mess of tangled plants in the pond! I can picture the raccoons getting their fishing supplies, aprons, table dressings and appetites ready before waddling along the trails through the forest over to the Mathews’s pond for the family meal!

This last spring, I did not invest in feeder fish so the fish aren’t there darting and swimming around the water to gobble up all the newly born wrigglers.  Not ever seeing tadpoles in the pond, it never occurred to me that all these years frogs had been laying their eggs in the water for the fish to enjoy a nutritious meal.  Luckily, I noticed them while walking around our garden area after returning from a four day holiday ‘off island; otherwise this routine could have gone on for several more years.  What a surprise and how wonderful; I love frogs.

Earlier this spring I heard a frog calling from outdoors for a mate in the late evening just below the window where I was reading.  Little did I know that it was probably the same frog arranging a late night rendezvous with a mate that resulted in forty future frogs enjoying the dark green waters full of good stuff.  If they all survive from the predators and dangers of their world, next year the pond will be overloaded with another batch of future frogs!  Then the spring nights will be filled with a chorus of lovely croaks.  I am convinced there will no longer be feeder fish in my garden pond.

