scan

Within the last month the songbirds had returned to the island for their summer mating.  It was obvious they had found their favorite mating territory by their loud cheerful cacophony of songs that raised my spirits during the warm sunny day walks.  It was a blessing to my ears; their music brought back those feelings of spring that had been dormant during the long cold and gray days of winter.

This early morning when I started down the driveway through the forest, I noticed the quietness around me.  It was silent!  Then, I realized the songbirds weren’t singing announcing their day was going to be bright and warm; a perfect day for collecting food, playing and attracting mates.  So, the two mile walk I did on my own without nature music to accompany me along the way.  Further into my walk big chunky rain drops begin to fall intermittently with large snow flakes grounding all airborne animals from flying.  The birds must have sensed the minor storm arriving this morning giving them a few more winks of sleep until the weather improved.

My thoughts drifted at that moment to the birds behavior during these quiet periods:  Where do they locate, how do they maintain body weight if unable to search for their daily  food intake and how do they keep warm?

In the painting, I used crayon resist hoping the white snow drops would show through the watercolor paint but they do not show on the print.   The scanner  results always shows the white paper gray; so you are looking at gray snow flakes.

 

 

10 thoughts on “No song birds this morning

  1. Paula: The sandpiper poem is lovely and I can relate to it so easily. We don’t have Sandpipers on our beach but a bird very similar called Deerkill, a bird that inhabits the beach shoreline in the Pacific N.W. The female lays her eggs in the sand w/o building a nest and will protect her eggs and chicks by running in front of you and appearing to have a broken wing.

    Back to the poem: The author expresses her thoughts very clearly with words that describe a beach full of driftwood very similar to those where I live. This is now a poem I will review many times in the future. Thanks so much for sharing. Good to hear from you again.

    Like

  2. I had the same worries when a storm was approaching our coast line. I worried a bit about our lovely Robin. But then, I noticed it sitting in a dense bush, very low to the ground. It answered partly my question: where are birds staying when trees are sweeping due to stormy weather. The other half of the answers was given when I cleaned out our 5 birdhouses. Most were taken by spiders, living comfy in way too big villas. But one house was full bird-do. Obviously this was a birdhouse functioning as a storm shelter. Also, your lovely post reminds me of a poem about another women worrying about a bird while she is noticing a storm is approaching. Here it is. It is one of my favourite poems.
    https://www.poemhunter.com/poem/the-sandpiper/

    Like

  3. A thoroughly engaging sketch even without the snowflakes, SWI. The woods are so inviting, and as I studied it, I had the feeling the birds were in there waiting out the storm. Lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I do have the manual plus manuals for electronic devices can be obtained on line; but, I am not good reading technical manuals for long periods of time. The scanner/printer combo was inexpensive; I’d rather purchase a higher quality used scanner w/o printer, etc. Thanks for your thoughts, I will pull out the manual first before investing in another electronic equip.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. From their hide-away places, the birds are puzzled …what on Earth is she doing out here on this cold, wet morning? Well, even if the birds do not, I certainly admire your sketchbook habit. In such a noisy world and much ado about nothing, thanks for sharing your observations and perspective of the road less traveled. This is such a good, healing direction for us. Keep going. Keep sharing.

    Like

  6. An interesting observation. I’ve noticed little brown birds scratching and hopping through the branches of the salal that grows tightly to the ground. I have to stop to spend time searching for the bird; it is so well hidden in the thick of the branches and leaves. This thick cover of tight compact arrangement of branches and leaves might keep them safe and warm.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. A month ago I heard some noise from between dry leaves on the ground in the forest. I waited and then saw it was a little wren foraging there.
    And after a while it just hid between the leaves and staid there.
    I wonder if other birds also do these kind of things?

    Like

Leave a Reply

