scan

“The Oregon Junco quickly takes a short hop on the large mushroom to get a “bird’s eye view” of the black beetle as it transverses a fallen leaf  during its escape to safety beneath the shade of moist decaying leaf debris under the mushroom.  Possibly the beetle will  be successful on its escape to safety due to its size and undesirable taste.  The shy and quiet wild jack rabbit is nearby happily nibbling away on the short green grass and weeds all the while watching the Junco’s morning actions.”  

Mushrooms have surged from the ground through the downed decaying leaves, twigs, weeds and debris this fall.  They can be seen growing, almost over night, along side the road under the overhanging branches of the tall evergreens.    The varieties were plentiful  each having its own shape, size, color plus some being very scary and appearing to be highly toxic.  I have never disciplined myself to learn the botanical names of all the mushrooms growing in the area where I live…so I am unable to  identify this particular one.

The above large mushroom  was at least six inches in diameter growing near the road where I take my morning walks.  Its appearance inspired my thoughts to what the scene might be later during the day when humans and vehicles are not disturbing the resident wildlife.

9 thoughts on “The Mushroom Story

  1. Yes, Paula, wild mushrooms are beautiful in a natural setting but as far as consuming, I prefer to eat my selection of mushrooms from the market or processed by a reputable brand name. when I see the large mushrooms while on my walks, they always intrigue my imagination to wander into the ‘what if….’

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A lovely drawing, Lois. It will enchant children.
    Like you, I haven’t learned many mushroom names. I attempted to learn them many times, in order to be able to pick them and eat them. But for that I am too scared. Too often you read about people making mistakes and dying because of mushroom poisoning. Besides that, in the Netherlands it is forbidden to forest mushrooms. I understand that: imagine 17 million people doing what I would love to do and ending up roaming through our very small woodland areas fighting for edible mushrooms! Still, like you, I regret not knowing their names.

    Like

  3. This is such a sweet and gentle drawing, SWI. I love seeing the junco resting here, peering down. And I, too, like to see the new mushrooms that reach out of the earth. The mouth-filled rabbit is lovely.

    Like

Leave a Reply

