Scan

One of the trails to reach the 3.5 mile trail on the high bluff then ending along the beach at Ebey’s Landing is a one mile hike  across Ebey’s prairie.  Along the trail are a variety of wild flowers, tall grasses, wild roses and spectacular views of the Strait of Juan de Fuca, Olympic Peninsula and Olympic mountain range.   It was a hot day on Tuesday plus I had to carry all the tools to sketch wild flowers growing along the edge of the bluff.   I found a comfortable spot in amongst the tall wild flowers for sketching.

Thank goodness I remembered to bring my hat for protection from the sun but being that it was getting very hot sitting in the sun and the dry air was dehydrating the water from my paint pan, I left for the day.   But the experience was being outdoors painting the fresh flowers in their true colors with bees and butterflies collecting pollen.

Scan copy 4

 

11 thoughts on “Hiking to Ebey’s Landing Trail to sketch wild flowers

  1. You are so welcome, Jean. I am glad that my journal page brought back memories when you visited your grandmother on Whidbey Island. My grandchildren also enjoy visiting the island, playing on the beaches and going on daily walks with me to observe, talk and laugh. Thank you for visiting and I hope you will browse again. I enjoyed reading your journal of your life; It is a fun read.

    Like

  2. You are so welcome, Jean. I am glad that my journal page brought back memories when you visited your grandmother on Whidbey Island. My grandchildren also enjoy visiting the island, playing on the beaches and going on daily walks with me to observe, talk and laugh. Thank you for visiting and I hope you will browse again. I enjoyed reading your journal of your life; It is a fun read.

    Like

  3. Oh, how I love this! My grandparents retired and Whidbey Island, and my grandmother was an avid walker. Every morning when we visited her, our first conversation was making plans on where to walk. Ebey’s Landing was one of my favorite places to go.

    Thank you for sharing this lovely sketch!

    Like

  4. Thank you, Jet. The selfie sketch was done from memory when I returned home. I’ve done the walk several times to enable me to picture it in my memory. The warm breeze from the water also helped dry out the paint.It’s always a “fingers crossed” day when painting outdoors but fun and good experience

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Your sketching talent is such a joy to behold. I love the “selfie” sketch, with the overview and you in it, and the adventure you had. Interesting how a hot day will dry out the paint pan, something we non-painters never think of.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

