The bench on our front porch has a  handwoven wool blanket on it.  The other day I noticed there had been some strings pulled from it and little clumps of wool were strewn around.  Today, when I looked out the front door window I saw a small black capped Chickadee pulling clumps of wool from the blanket for its nest.  Instead of chasing the bird away, I stayed to observe it for a while and decided it is better to let the blanket go to the birds so the little babies can keep warm.  I used a watercolor soluble graphite pencil to obtain the dark and light  values for softness in the bird feathers.
The bench on our front porch has a wool handwoven blanket on it. The other day I noticed there had been some strings pulled from it and little clumps of wool were strewn around. Today, when I looked out the front door window I saw a small black capped Chickadee pulling clumps of wool from the blanket for its nest. Instead of chasing the bird away, I stayed to observe it for a while and decided it is better to let the blanket go to the birds so the little babies can keep warm. I used a watercolor soluble graphite pencil to obtain the dark and light values for softness in the bird feathers.

 

 

8 thoughts on “Chickadee gathering wool for nest

  1. I know, Lois, that is why I would love to hold them for a minute.
    A few years back a Jay was chasing a juvenile nuthatch in our garden. The young bird crashed under a bush. We picked it up and held it for a while. When its heartbeat slowed down and it seem to be recovered, we let it fly to a thick bush for further recovery. It was so awesome to hold it for a while. I know it stresses the bird, but it was better than being killed by the Jay.

    Like

  2. That pose was just before the chickadee took off when it had seen me standing at the window watching it pluck the wool from the blanket.. It had a load to carry, not far, I hope.

    Did the birds find the dog hair? I’ve done that with the lint collected in the dryer filter.

    Like

  3. Ha! I really like that pose of the one looking straight at you! Now, that’s a look like, “Don’t even think of taking this blanket from us. 🙂 My Granddaughter and I have taken some of the dog hair from the groomings of my dog and layed that out for the birds this time of year. You are so nice to let your blanket go to the birds.

    Like

  4. Thank you, Applepear. The pencil is great for quick sketches while away from your studio. Just pull it out of your purse to do quick sketches and then when back home add the water with brush to apply the soft edges, etc.

    Like

Leave a Reply

